

Premier of New South Wales Australia

2007 Premier's Teacher Scholarships - 36 Teachers Honoured

Sunday, 19 August 2007

Premier Morris lemma today congratulated 36 teachers from across NSW who have been recognised for their commitment to quality education with a 2007 Premier's Teacher Scholarship.

"This program is about helping to make our best teachers even better," Premier lemma said.

"Through the Premier's Teacher Scholarships program, educators have a truly unique opportunity to undertake international study tours and visit some of the world's best schools and centres of education.

"They return to their classrooms professionally inspired and re-invigorated, ready to share new knowledge, teaching methods and skills.

"Most of us can still recall the special teachers when we were in school – those who sparked our imagination and inspired us with their enthusiasm and passion.

"That's what we're fuelling through this program – and at the end of the day, it's our students who will benefit."

Premier lemma also paid special tribute to the many corporate partners involved in the program.

"Fourteen organisations have given their support to this important program, and in doing so have demonstrated their commitment to our teachers, their students and the broader community," Mr Iemma said.

"With their generous support, we have been able to add two new categories to this year's program – Youth Depression Awareness and Agriculture.

"I sincerely thank each of our partners for their involvement."

Since 1999, over 230 teachers across NSW have received NSW Premier's Teacher Scholarships. All NSW teachers from Government and non-Government schools and TAFE NSW Institutes are eligible to apply for the scholarships. The 2007 program saw nearly 210 teachers apply for 36 scholarships across 16 curriculum areas.

For further details about the NSW Premier's Teacher Scholarships and the recipients visit www.det.nsw.edu.au/awards or call the NSW Department of Education on (02) 9561 8501.

2007 Premier's Teacher Scholarship Sponsors and Recipients:

Premier's ABN AMRO Business Studies, Economics Scholarships

Miss Kate Donnelly, Sydney Secondary College, Blackwattle Campus Ms Jennifer Harding, TAFE NSW – Sydney Institute, Sutherland College Mr John Carswell, Cobar High School, Cobar Mr Greg Hannelly, St Edward's College, Gosford

Premier's Anika Foundation Youth Depression Awareness Scholarships (new category)

Ms Jane Sleeman, Hornsby Girls High School, Hornsby Ms Cathryn Bourne, Singleton Public School, Singleton Mrs Susan Martinov, Kirrawee High School, Kirrawee

Premier's Country Energy Indigenous Education Scholarship

Mrs Gae Masters, Richmond River High School, Lismore

Premier's EnergyAustralia Environmental Education Scholarships

Mr John Atkins, Botany Bay Environmental Education Centre, Sutherland Mrs Kathryn Puddey, Karangi Public School, Karangi Dr Judith Wilks, John Paul Secondary College, Coffs Harbour

Premier's English Scholarship

Ms Kelli McGraw, Macquarie Fields High School, Macquarie Fields

Premier's Genworth Financial Mathematics Scholarships

Mr Christopher Mills, Richmond River High School, Lismore Mrs Tracey Hughes-Butters, Lumen Christi Catholic College, Pambula

Premier's Kingold Chinese Language Teacher Scholarship

Miss Judy Shih, Cabramatta West Public School, Cabramatta

Premier's KPMG Information & Communication Technologies Scholarship

Ms Jane Truswell, Wangee Park School, Lakemba

Premier's Macquarie Bank Science Scholarships

Mr Greg Pitt, Hurlstone Agricultural High School, Liverpool Mrs Irene Dawson, Mullumbimby High School, Mullumbimby Mr Kevin Garrick, Sarah Redfern High School, Campbelltown Mr Scott Mercer, Sarah Redfern High School, Campbelltown Ms Anne Buffier, All Saints College, Maitland

Premier's Minter Ellison Educational Leadership Scholarship

Dr Jeanne Bathgate, Hawkesbury High School, Freemans Reach

Premier's Special Education Scholarships

Mr Mark Smith, Sydney Secondary College, Leichhardt Campus Mrs Christine Grima-Farrell, Bethany Catholic Primary, Glenmore Park

Premier's TAFE Scholarship

Ms Fay Jubb, TAFE NSW, South Western Sydney Institute, Granville College

Premier's Visy Industries Agriculture Scholarship (new category)

Mr Ian Chapman, TAFE NSW - Western Institute, Wellington Campus

Premier's Visy Industries Australian Military History Scholarship

Mr Graeme Judd, St Edward's College, Gosford

Premier's Westfield History Scholarships

Mr Michael Molkentin, Shellharbour Anglican College, Dunmore Ms Vicky Zinopoulos, MLC School, Burwood Ms Sue Angelo, East Hills Girls Technology High School, Panania Ms Diane Poulton, Thomas Reddall High School, Ambarvale Mr Roger Owens, Kotara High School, Adamstown Heights

Premier's Xstrata Coal Rural and Remote Education Scholarships

Mrs Susan Colley, Kelso Public School, Kelso Ms Carol-Lee Brady, Finley High School, Finley Ms Catherine Nielsen, Centre for Learning Innovation, Strathfield Mrs Julie Wilson, Dubbo School of Distance Education, Dubbo